Click here to enable the accessibility widget for this website (Can also be opened using the Alt+9 Key)
Sullivan Logo 01
Virtual Tour
Schedule a Visit
More Information
Sullivan University Blog Featured Image


College of Pharmacy and Health Services

On behalf of Dean Soja, the Sullivan University College of Pharmacy is pleased to send congratulations to student and faculty members on their most recent accomplishments.

Dr. Daniel Malcom, assistant professor in the Clinical and Administrative Sciences department, and Rachel Backert, class of 2015, have been named American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) Walmart Scholars for 2014. There were 85 student/faculty recipients for the program this year. AACP and Walmart share the commitment to help colleges and schools of pharmacy ensure there are an adequate number of well-prepared individuals who aspire to join the faculties of expanding programs across the country. The goal of this scholarship program is to strengthen the recipient’s skills and commitment to a career in academic pharmacy through participation in programming and activities at the 2014 AACP annual meeting and seminars. The program provides $1,000 travel scholarships to 85 student/faculty pairs from AACP member institutions to attend the AACP annual meeting and the AACP teacher’s seminar in Grapevine, Texas from July 26-30. This momentous program continues to grow each year with Walmart’s support and dedication.

Backert has also been appointed to the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ (ASHP) Council on Therapeutics. There are only six pharmacy students throughout the country who are selected for this honor each year. The ASHP councils handle some of the society’s most important policy functions and are the primary bodies that initiate ASHP policies on professional issues. The Council on Therapeutics is concerned with ASHP professional policies related to the safe and appropriate use of medicines. Dr. Chris Betz, associate professor in the Clinical and Administrative Sciences department, is the incoming chair of the Section of Clinical Specialists and Scientists and will also function as liaison to the Council on Therapeutics.

Sullivan’s College of Pharmacy encourages all students to continually strive toward their goals, whether they are in academic, community or institutional pharmacy, and to always be advocates for the profession of pharmacy.